3 Years Closer…honoring memories

Tomorrow it will be the 3rd anniversary of Stephen’s passing.  Time is such a strange enemy and friend.  It is hard to get farther away from the last time I hugged him, but it is also easier as I get closer to the next hug I will get from him.  I am often asked what we are doing on days such as January 24th, and his birthday June 9th.  I appreciate it because it makes me think.  How am I remembering Stephen?  How am I honoring his life?

Our family has chosen a couple of things that we feel can make his life, suffering, and death mean more.  After being introduced to the LLC’s “Light the Night Walk” the year following Stephen’s death, we have walked and raised money for the Leukemia Lymphoma Society each year.  Sarah was even able to attend an event in Bondi, Australia where she was living in October.  We have a team “SWIMSTRONG”.  Anyone is welcome to join our team and earn or raise money throughout the year.  Email me if you would like information on this.

Nathan is just finishing up his Eagle Project.  He held a ‘Be the Match’ drive.  Be the Match is an organization that helps find donors for Stem Cell or Bone Marrow transplants.  With a simple mouth swab, you can be entered into a database of potential donors.  Through the years, if someone is a match with you, you may be asked to donate (usually through your blood – just an IV).  They need donors between the ages of 18 -45.  The event is over, but you can still help Nathan with this by registering online, they will mail you the swab kit, you swab your cheek, then mail it back.  Very simple.  This is the link and the code for his drive is NateG.  https://join.bethematch.org/NateG

These have been great projects for the year.

This week we have decided to think of 3 things that Stephen would want us to do – and do them.  Anyone can do the same if you want to join us.  Some ideas I’ve had are: call a friend he would have called, go to a BYU basketball game (or watch it), eat Buffalo Wild Wings or bottled peaches, read the scriptures, be a missionary, go golfing (this is out for most of us due to snow!) write in your journal, go swimming etc.  Well, you get the idea.   One other idea would be to write a memory you have of him (be honest-we know he wasn’t perfect).  If you do this, we would love a copy.

Thanks for your continued love and support.  I am amazed how much we help each other out during this life.  I am so thankful for the many people who are part of our family’s life.

 

 

About Jane Griener

I am from SLC, UT. I grew up in a wonderful family in the south part of the Salt Lake valley. I have 4 sisters and 2 brothers. I married my best friend, Jeff Griener when we were 21 years old. We have 6 children. 4 boys and 2 girls. I've had many adventures in business and life. Too many to tell about in a simple 'about you' spot. My life is centered around my family and they are the most important factor in my life. I like gardening, photography, cooking, knitting, graphic design and lots of other things. I speak a little spanish. Fall is my favorite season of the year, but I think having all 4 seasons is what makes me love fall so much. Religion plays a big roll in my life. I belong to The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. Striving to follow the teachings of Jesus Christ and become a better person each day is my goal. Well, that is a bit 'about me!'
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment