The armies are back for the fight!

The last few days have been pretty rough but thanks to dilaudid, epinephrine breathing treatments, cool mist humidifier, ativan, and a host of other medications, a lot of patience, and the goodness of God, he made it through.

Today his neutrophils are up to 600 so he is considered ‘engrafted.’  His throat sores have improved. This morning he was able to drink some warm apple cider.  It was still very painful but it went down.  It’s a major milestone to be able to swallow.

The next steps we are watching for in the process are for his blood counts to continue to climb on their own, his sores to continue healing, and in general – improvement in overall health that will allow them to start taking him off medications.   During these next weeks they will be monitoring him closely for signs of Graft verses Host disease.  There should be a little battle from the donor cells but not enough to cause him to get a rash, upset digestive system, or aching joints.  The two main organs that graft vs host disease affect are the skin and the lining of the digestive system.   Patients can have anything from no symptoms to very severe symptoms.

We are happy to be this far down the road.  One day at a time.

Even though this is my third time watching the engraftment of stem cells this year, it still amazes me.  When the body begins to produce blood cells, it’s ability to heal itself is incredible.  Once again it reaffirmed my believe that our bodies are created by God.  The complexity and beauty of the interactions of the body is beyond genius, it is God-like.

Thank you again for all of your prayers for Stephen and our family.  We are truly blessed to have so many people around the world praying for us.  We love you all and we pray that God will bless you for your goodness.

About Jane Griener

I am from SLC, UT. I grew up in a wonderful family in the south part of the Salt Lake valley. I have 4 sisters and 2 brothers. I married my best friend, Jeff Griener when we were 21 years old. We have 6 children. 4 boys and 2 girls. I've had many adventures in business and life. Too many to tell about in a simple 'about you' spot. My life is centered around my family and they are the most important factor in my life. I like gardening, photography, cooking, knitting, graphic design and lots of other things. I speak a little spanish. Fall is my favorite season of the year, but I think having all 4 seasons is what makes me love fall so much. Religion plays a big roll in my life. I belong to The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. Striving to follow the teachings of Jesus Christ and become a better person each day is my goal. Well, that is a bit 'about me!'
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The armies are back for the fight!

  1. Julie says:

    So glad he can swallow again! Praying for you all!
    Julie

Leave a Reply

