The good, the bad, and the ugly at the BMT

Past time for an update.  After the transplant Josh felt so happy it was like the weight of the world was lifted off his shoulders.  Other than a little soreness in his leg he didn’t have any problems.  He got right back home and back to playing.

Stephen felt great for several days.  His blood counts didn’t hit bottom until a few days ago.  He has been receiving blood and platelets as needed to keep his counts high enough.   Last Thursday he started to feel some mouth and throat sores coming on.  It is called mucositis and it is an ugly, mean thing.   He started on pain meds but by late Friday night he was in lots of pain and couldn’t swallow anything.  They have him on a pain pump and he uses a suction tube to remove saliva from his mouth.  We had a scary night Friday.  He felt like his throat was closing off. He was a little better Saturday and Sunday but had another really hard time Sunday night.  He is receiving IV Nutrition and all medicines are IV now.   The swelling in his throat was really bad this morning and they considered moving him to ICU but we have avoided that so far.  He was scheduled for one more chemotherapy this morning but they cancelled that.  The chemo therapy postpones the engraftment which decreases your chances of getting graft verses host disease.  The doctors decided that it was too risky to give him more chemo for fear of his airway closing off and they are going to go ahead and let the engraftment proceed.  We’ve been taking turns sitting with him at the hospital making sure his breathing and pain are controlled.  Just a rough spot that we hopefully we be through soon.  Thanks for all the inquiries and especially thanks for all your prayers.

About Jane Griener

I am from SLC, UT. I grew up in a wonderful family in the south part of the Salt Lake valley. I have 4 sisters and 2 brothers. I married my best friend, Jeff Griener when we were 21 years old. We have 6 children. 4 boys and 2 girls. I've had many adventures in business and life. Too many to tell about in a simple 'about you' spot. My life is centered around my family and they are the most important factor in my life. I like gardening, photography, cooking, knitting, graphic design and lots of other things. I speak a little spanish. Fall is my favorite season of the year, but I think having all 4 seasons is what makes me love fall so much. Religion plays a big roll in my life. I belong to The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. Striving to follow the teachings of Jesus Christ and become a better person each day is my goal. Well, that is a bit 'about me!'
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The good, the bad, and the ugly at the BMT

  1. Doris Rasmussen says:

    Thanks for keeping us updated.

    Dave & Doris Rasmussen

Leave a Reply

