The Plan…at least part of it

We met with the Doctors at the Bone Marrow Clinic at LDS hospital today to discuss the different treatment options. The doctors want to start me on an outpatient chemo therapy treatment starting tomorrow. The chemo therapy is called Brentuximab Vedotin (Adcetris); this is the chemo that I previously used before the first stem-cell transplant (I was the first person in Utah to receive this treatment).

The next step in my treatment will be to have an allogeneic stem cell transplant using the stem cells of one of my siblings. Jared, Sarah, and Jennie have all been typed and they are all HALF matches. Nathan and Josh are going to be tested this week.  Ideally, we would use the stem cells of a sibling that is a FULL match. If none of my siblings are a FULL match, then there is a transplant known as a HAPLO, or half match transplant. This uses the stem cells of a half match sibling. There is also another treatment option using stem cells from an umbilical cord.

For now, we will start the Brentuximab treatment and wait for the results of Nathan and Josh’s type tests.

Thanks for all of your love, support, and prayers.

-Stephen

About Jane Griener

I am from SLC, UT. I grew up in a wonderful family in the south part of the Salt Lake valley. I have 4 sisters and 2 brothers. I married my best friend, Jeff Griener when we were 21 years old. We have 6 children. 4 boys and 2 girls. I've had many adventures in business and life. Too many to tell about in a simple 'about you' spot. My life is centered around my family and they are the most important factor in my life. I like gardening, photography, cooking, knitting, graphic design and lots of other things. I speak a little spanish. Fall is my favorite season of the year, but I think having all 4 seasons is what makes me love fall so much. Religion plays a big roll in my life. I belong to The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. Striving to follow the teachings of Jesus Christ and become a better person each day is my goal. Well, that is a bit 'about me!'
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Plan…at least part of it

  1. Marianne Loose says:

    You’ve got our prayers and support Stephen! We think of you daily. Hang in there and keep fighting the good fight!

Leave a Reply

