The battle continues…

We got the results from Stephen’s PET and CT scans today.  It wasn’t the news we wanted but like Stephen says – it is what it is.

He still has cancer in his chest that is growing.  The next step will be an allogenic Stem Cell Transplant.  This uses a donors stem cells rather than your own.  The next few weeks will be spent doing some testing, getting a biopsy of the affected lymphnodes, checking siblings to see who is the best match etc.  I’ll write more when I know more.  In the meantime, thank you for your prayers and love.  Here is a quick message Stephen wanted to send out:

Dear Friends and Family, 
As you all know, I’ve been battling Hodgkin Lymphoma for the past year and a half. And after 9 months of Chemo and 2 stem-cell transplants I’m still alive! This weekend I had a PET/CT scan to see if my treatments have been successful. We went over the results of the scan today with my doctors. The results of the scan showed that the lymph nodes in my chest and neck area still have growing disease. This was definitely not the news that we wanted to hear. But it is what it is. And I’m still not giving up. “Faith is not to have a perfect knowledge of things; therefore if ye have faith ye hope for things which are not seen, which are true.” Thank you so much for all of your prayers and love for me and my family. The doctors are meeting with each other this week and we will soon know exactly what the new treatment plan will be. 

About Jane Griener

I am from SLC, UT. I grew up in a wonderful family in the south part of the Salt Lake valley. I have 4 sisters and 2 brothers. I married my best friend, Jeff Griener when we were 21 years old. We have 6 children. 4 boys and 2 girls. I've had many adventures in business and life. Too many to tell about in a simple 'about you' spot. My life is centered around my family and they are the most important factor in my life. I like gardening, photography, cooking, knitting, graphic design and lots of other things. I speak a little spanish. Fall is my favorite season of the year, but I think having all 4 seasons is what makes me love fall so much. Religion plays a big roll in my life. I belong to The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. Striving to follow the teachings of Jesus Christ and become a better person each day is my goal. Well, that is a bit 'about me!'
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The battle continues…

  1. Doris Rasmussen says:

    We love you and are praying for you.

    Dave and Doris Rasmussen

  2. Erika says:

    Praying for your family

  3. Diane Kiser says:

    Jane and Stephen,

    Our thoughts and prayers are still going your direction. You have been so strong and, really, I can’t tell you how much we have learned from you and your perserverance. Our lives have been touched and we hope for the very best in your continued efforts to beat this monster illness. Keep going! We love you!!!

    The Kiser Family

  4. Terry Patterson says:

    As always Stephen you are in our prayers. We pray for your family too! You are such an awesome example to all of us. WE LOVE YOU!
    The Patterson Family

Leave a Reply

