More Radiation? Why not…

We just thought we were finished.  The tumor board recommended more localized radiation in the areas that were most resistant to treatment.  Stephen figured that he’s made it this far, no reason to stop till we’ve done everything possible.

This is not because his transplant procedures didn’t work or anything, this is just a recommendation that the doctors had.  Cancer is most likely to come back in the areas that it left last.  For Stephen, this is his abdominal area and his spleen.  So he started yesterday with 12 consecutive days of 10-15 minutes of radiation to these areas.  The treatments are at LDS Hospital.  So far they haven’t made him sick.  He takes a little nap in the afternoon but that is the only side effect so far.

They have drawn on his stomach to show the areas which are receiving the treatment.

Stephen has been feeling great.  He is gaining strength and stamina and is eating really well.  Last week he went to a BYU football game and made it through the entire game.  The ticket office was really nice and gave him second row seats to the games so he doesn’t have to climb the bleacher stairs.  Pretty sweet.  Today he went golfing.  He has taken it upon himself to teach his sister Sarah how to golf.  They been to the driving range twice and he has her practice chipping in the back yard.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Stephen started taking an online class at BYU to maintain his status as a student.  He is taking one religion class.  He is able to do the entire class from home.  He keeps in touch with the professor and worked out the details with him.

If how he feels is any indication (which it usually is) I think his treatments have been very successful.  He will be doing tests to get results in a couple more months.

Thanks for your prayers and concern.  I haven’t been very good at keeping his blog up lately.  I think I have finally hit burn out on this Cancer treatment.  Can we please be done?  Two more weeks!  Almost there.   It’s funny how you hold up both physically and mentally when you know you have to.  Now that I know he is close to finished with treatment. my brain is saying OK…I’ve had enough of that.  I’m not sure how Stephen takes it all so well.  I asked him what he has learned or what advice he would give someone.  After thinking for awhile he said (paraphrased…)  I decided that I have to be happy in the moment no matter what is happening.  Whether I have cancer or not, if I’m in treatment, or in the hospital or wherever else.  I can’t change it and thinking ahead just makes me worry or feel anxious.  I just think about whatever is happening that day and have fun with that day and be happy with that day.  Then I do the same with the next day when it comes. Sounds like a good way to cope with life.  How do you eat an elephant?  One bite at a time!

About Jane Griener

I am from SLC, UT. I grew up in a wonderful family in the south part of the Salt Lake valley. I have 4 sisters and 2 brothers. I married my best friend, Jeff Griener when we were 21 years old. We have 6 children. 4 boys and 2 girls. I've had many adventures in business and life. Too many to tell about in a simple 'about you' spot. My life is centered around my family and they are the most important factor in my life. I like gardening, photography, cooking, knitting, graphic design and lots of other things. I speak a little spanish. Fall is my favorite season of the year, but I think having all 4 seasons is what makes me love fall so much. Religion plays a big roll in my life. I belong to The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. Striving to follow the teachings of Jesus Christ and become a better person each day is my goal. Well, that is a bit 'about me!'
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to More Radiation? Why not…

  1. Daniel Glade says:

    Almost there! Keep on keepin on. I loved the last paragraph. Sister Griener, Steve, and family. Thanks for your example.

    • Gloria Acuna says:

      Thank you for posting again. I was wondering how you guys were doing. I don’t really know how you guys are always so positive. The paragraph were you describe how Stephen is feeling made realized how blessed my life is. Thanks again anda keep on. You are not only figthing that cancer, but also our weaknesses with your incredible strenght and example. Besitos.

  2. bEcky mAck says:

    Stephen has life and attitude figured out! Thanks for the reminder!! HaPpY for the progress…almost done! Yeah!

  3. Doris Rasmussen says:

    We admire your attitude and will power. We are always praying for you.

    Dave & Doris Rasmussen

  4. Thanks everybody!!! And a special thanks to my Mom for being such an awesome blogger!

Leave a Reply

