Back home again…

All the tests came back normal.  We are happy to know that his heart and blood vessels to his brain  are working just fine.  No signs of any damage but also no signs as to what caused the episode.  There are 2 theories.  The first is that tapering his prednisone caused an increase in pressure in the brain creating a pseudotumor which puts pressure on the brain and causes the reaction.  The second is a complex migraine.  It is a form of migraine with aura.  Instead of causing the visual aura, you can have numbness on one side and speech confusion.    Given the events that followed, I lean toward the migraine theory.

Stephen got feeling fantastic and we went home from the Hospital on Sunday afternoon, May 20th.  He felt great all of Sunday and Monday morning.  Sarah even took him for a little walk.

He started to develop a headache Monday afternoon and by Monday night he was feeling sick with nausea and pain.  We gave him pain meds and nausea meds but nothing seemed to work.  Ice on his neck, a pillow on his head and holding still kept him from throwing up.  If he moved, or stood up he would get really sick.  Tuesday morning at 7 am Stephen and I headed back to the hospital.   When we got there they did his lab work and gave him fluids.  Once again everything looked normal.  This time they treated him with Migraine meds.  It worked!  After a couple of hours he could take the pillow off of his head.  After another dose and 30 minutes, he was feeling pretty good.  So we headed home from the hospital armed with migraine medicine this time.

Today (Wednesday)  has been very uneventful!  I LOVE it.  Stephen doesn’t have a headache, isn’t throwing up, and is eating food.  Hurray!  He has a pretty tough rash on his face, neck and upper body but he can live with that.

We hope to spend a few nights home with no trips to the hospital.  Keep your fingers crossed!  Who knew that a migraine could cause this much trouble!

Here is a link to an interesting clip on youtube about the complex headaches.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WoLl358g77w

About Jane Griener

I am from SLC, UT. I grew up in a wonderful family in the south part of the Salt Lake valley. I have 4 sisters and 2 brothers. I married my best friend, Jeff Griener when we were 21 years old. We have 6 children. 4 boys and 2 girls. I've had many adventures in business and life. Too many to tell about in a simple 'about you' spot. My life is centered around my family and they are the most important factor in my life. I like gardening, photography, cooking, knitting, graphic design and lots of other things. I speak a little spanish. Fall is my favorite season of the year, but I think having all 4 seasons is what makes me love fall so much. Religion plays a big roll in my life. I belong to The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. Striving to follow the teachings of Jesus Christ and become a better person each day is my goal. Well, that is a bit 'about me!'
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

