T minus 3 – almost there

Stephen has been able to get his chemo infusions every day and is moving closer and closer to day zero when he will get his stem cells back.  Overall he is doing really well.  There are hours when he feels great and hours when he feels sick.  He has had occasional nausea and vomiting but for the most part it has been minimal.  The doctors and nurses are really great about managing his symptoms so that he doesn’t have to suffer needlessly.  He’s tried out lots of different drugs for symptoms.  Some with great results and others with comical or bad results.  Each person just reacts differently.  They gave him some medicine that was supposed to make him hungry…it just made him stupid instead.  He couldn’t remember what he was saying or sometimes where he was at.  He hated it.  He asked me ‘mom will you still love me if I am dumb?’  He was worried that it might be permanent!  Nope – he was back to himself as soon as the drugs wore off.  Smart and sassy.

Tomorrow he will get the last of his chemo drugs.  Tuesday he rests, and Wednesday is the stem cell transfusion.

We took the kids up to see where he was staying.  It was a lot to have us all in the room at once.  We only stayed for a few minutes.  He loves to have short visits and receive txt messages and emails.  Even if he doesn’t return your messages, he reads them and loves them.  Thanks!  Here are a few pictures from the last few days.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Jane Griener

I am from SLC, UT. I grew up in a wonderful family in the south part of the Salt Lake valley. I have 4 sisters and 2 brothers. I married my best friend, Jeff Griener when we were 21 years old. We have 6 children. 4 boys and 2 girls. I've had many adventures in business and life. Too many to tell about in a simple 'about you' spot. My life is centered around my family and they are the most important factor in my life. I like gardening, photography, cooking, knitting, graphic design and lots of other things. I speak a little spanish. Fall is my favorite season of the year, but I think having all 4 seasons is what makes me love fall so much. Religion plays a big roll in my life. I belong to The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. Striving to follow the teachings of Jesus Christ and become a better person each day is my goal. Well, that is a bit 'about me!'
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to T minus 3 – almost there

  1. Erika says:

    Thinking of you, and praying for your family. Thanks for keeping us updated.

  2. Brent Woodcock says:

    Stephan is looking pretty good!! I hope he doesn’t miss any of the Utah Jazz playoff games. He still has a ways to go, but pretty soon Mr. “Smart and Sassy” will be doing just fine.He has a nice room also. Keep getting better Stephan! Let’s keep hearing more of these good updates!

Leave a Reply

