T minus 8

April 22, 2012:  Well, the day has finally come to begin.  It has taken a bit longer to get here but we made it.  It was 8 months ago that we learned that Stephen would need the transplant treatment.  We are so thankful that his cancer finally responded, allowing him to proceed.

The last couple of days Stephen has been running a fever off and on.  Last night we had a wonderful family dinner at Olive Garden (thanks for treating us Wrights).

Later that night his fever got over 101 so we had to take him up to LDS hospital.  As long as he has his central line in, anytime he gets a fever over 100.4, you have to go to the hospital so they can check for infection.  By the time we got there, his fever was gone.  They still took blood and ran tests and started some cultures.  We got back home around midnight.  Sunday he had a fever again.  It stayed low and so the doctor told us not to worry.  Sunday evening it had reached almost 102 so we called again.  The doctor checked and the cultures weren’t growing any bacteria so we didn’t need to worry.  We figured it was just a Hodgkin’s fever.  About 30 minutes later the doctor called back.  His tests had just started showing bacteria growing in it.  So…off to the hospital again, but this time they told us just to bring his things and they would admit him.  He was supposed to be admitted in the morning at 9 am.

Sarah and Jeff took him up and got him settled in.  I stayed home and got the other kids to bed.  My parents came up to the hospital and my Dad helped Jeff give Stephen a priesthood blessing.  Jeff just called and said that they are starting an antibiotic in his line and he should still be ready to start the treatment tomorrow.   So, although it was an unusual start…at least it was a start.  What we are learning is that nothing is ‘usual’.  Every patient is so different, every unusual thing can be considered normal.

Thanks for all the well wishes, texts and calls.  What an outpouring of love we feel from all over the world.  We love you!  God bless you all.

About Jane Griener

I am from SLC, UT. I grew up in a wonderful family in the south part of the Salt Lake valley. I have 4 sisters and 2 brothers. I married my best friend, Jeff Griener when we were 21 years old. We have 6 children. 4 boys and 2 girls. I've had many adventures in business and life. Too many to tell about in a simple 'about you' spot. My life is centered around my family and they are the most important factor in my life. I like gardening, photography, cooking, knitting, graphic design and lots of other things. I speak a little spanish. Fall is my favorite season of the year, but I think having all 4 seasons is what makes me love fall so much. Religion plays a big roll in my life. I belong to The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. Striving to follow the teachings of Jesus Christ and become a better person each day is my goal. Well, that is a bit 'about me!'
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to T minus 8

  1. skgriener says:

    I’m here watching the Jazz game and I’m feeling pretty good. We should be starting the chemotherapy treatments tomorrow. Thanks for all the prayers and support!

Leave a Reply

