On your mark. Get set…

 

and Monday will be GO!

Stephen has finished up all the tests, checks, scans and blood work.  He has signed all the consent forms that say they are trying to save your life but in the process all these things might happen to you…. Now he is going to golf, relax and wait a couple of days. He is ready to go.    He will go into to hospital Monday morning at 9:00 am.  Here is the plan for the first Stem Cell transplant:

Monday April 23rd(day -7): BCNU infusion

Tuesday April 24th(day -6):VP 16 infusion and Ara-C infusion

Wednesday April 25th(day -5):VP 16 infusion and Ara-C infusion

Thursday April 26th(day -4):VP 16 infusion and Ara-C infusion

Friday April 27th(day -3):VP 16 infusion and Ara-C infusion

Saturday April 28th(day -2): Melphalan infusion

Sunday April 29th(day -1): Rest (how appropriate)

Monday April 30th(day 0): Infusion of his blood stem cells(Progenitor Cells)

Monday May 1st is considered day 1 of his new life and they count forward from there.  The doctors have told him that normally patients are not very sick during the week of chemo therapy.  He will receive the infusions in the morning and then spend the day doing what ever he would like (from his hospital room).  About day 3 (after receiving the stem cells) is when blood counts hit the lowest point and patients usually get a delayed sickness from the chemo that starts about then too.  From this point on you focus on  feeling better and getting your blood counts high enough that you can leave the hospital.  The entire process usually takes 3-4 weeks.   Normally patients receive blood transfusions and other treatments during the recovery period.  Every patient will react differently.  Just like with the stem cell collection.  Normally patients are hardly sick but Stephen was hospitalized for 3 days.  During the transplant, the doctor reported that one patient worked from his hospital room every day but 1.  Other patients are too ill to even read a book.  We will just have to wait and see how he feels.

He can have visitors at any time.  The only restriction is — don’t come if you are sick.  They suggested that young children do not visit.  It would be nice if you could txt one of us before visiting just to make sure he is feeling up to it.  You could always txt Stephen or send him email or facebook messages.  He also checks the blog and I hope he will feel up to writing on it occasionally.

Somewhere between day 45 to day 60 he will return to the hospital to begin his second stem cell transplant using a combination of total body irradiation and chemo therapy.  It will be a little longer and a little more challenging….but we will worry about that later.

I took the above picture of him today.  He isn’t looking forward to becoming bald and puffy again.    We took a picture so he can remember that he will return to looking like himself again.

Thanks for caring!   Love the Griener Family

PS Congrats to Sarah, who is graduating from UVU next Friday!

About Jane Griener

I am from SLC, UT. I grew up in a wonderful family in the south part of the Salt Lake valley. I have 4 sisters and 2 brothers. I married my best friend, Jeff Griener when we were 21 years old. We have 6 children. 4 boys and 2 girls. I've had many adventures in business and life. Too many to tell about in a simple 'about you' spot. My life is centered around my family and they are the most important factor in my life. I like gardening, photography, cooking, knitting, graphic design and lots of other things. I speak a little spanish. Fall is my favorite season of the year, but I think having all 4 seasons is what makes me love fall so much. Religion plays a big roll in my life. I belong to The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. Striving to follow the teachings of Jesus Christ and become a better person each day is my goal. Well, that is a bit 'about me!'
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to On your mark. Get set…

  1. dukedaughter says:

    You have been and will continue to be in our every prayer. All the best to Stephen as he begins this new phase. We are glad that we can look forward with faith and that he is in such good and capable medical hands. Congratulations to your Sarah as well! Thanks for keeping us posted Jane, much love.

  2. Doris Rasmussen says:

    We are praying for you every day.

    Love you

    Dave and Doris Rasmussen

  3. Wendy says:

    Hi Stephen,
    I just got caught up on your blog, and I have to tell you how inspiring your story is to me. After reading everything, I thought to myself, “I can do hard things!…. If Stephen can go through all of this with a smile on his face, I can get through whatever comes my way”. Thanks, Stephen, for being an inspriration to me and everyone!

  4. Kate Landro says:

    Stephen, We are thinking of you!! The kids ask about you daily and what you are doing. I try and keep them posted with all you are up to. Know that we LOVE you and think you could win the Strong Man competition for sure! Wishing you the best! love The Landro Family

Leave a Reply

