Great News!

Stephen is doing much better after recovering for a few days.  He is still in a lot of pain and has to be very careful how he moves.  The biggest problem he has is that he can’t laugh without causing himself a lot of pain.  This is a painful comedy most of the time since he can’t help laughing.  Just knowing that he shouldn’t laugh…makes him want to laugh!   He is learning a lot of self control to go with his patience.   Don’t worry though –  he has his very ornery moments too.   He came home from the hospital on Friday.  Jeff was able to go bring him home so I could work.  Thankfully Jeff’s job is flexible.  He is at work today (Saturday) to make up some hours.  My employer has been wonderful to work with me as well.

The results came back from the biopsies and it is great news.  The only form of cancer they can find is Classic Hodgkin Lymphoma and it is still not in his bone marrow.  It was a painful way to find out for sure but it had to be done to know how to proceed.

We will meet with the bone marrow transplant team on Wednesday and find out if they want him to do more chemotherapy first or if they are going to move straight into the transplant preparations.   They have been waiting for some type of response to therapy before he could have his stem cell transplant.  They may want to grab this window of opportunity where he has responded in some way to the chemo and it still isn’t in his bone marrow.   We are really not sure what information they will use to make the decision but we will find out on Wednesday and we will post more then.

Thanks for all the prayers!

Here is a pic of the kids visiting Stephen at the hospital.

 

 

About Jane Griener

I am from SLC, UT. I grew up in a wonderful family in the south part of the Salt Lake valley. I have 4 sisters and 2 brothers. I married my best friend, Jeff Griener when we were 21 years old. We have 6 children. 4 boys and 2 girls. I've had many adventures in business and life. Too many to tell about in a simple 'about you' spot. My life is centered around my family and they are the most important factor in my life. I like gardening, photography, cooking, knitting, graphic design and lots of other things. I speak a little spanish. Fall is my favorite season of the year, but I think having all 4 seasons is what makes me love fall so much. Religion plays a big roll in my life. I belong to The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. Striving to follow the teachings of Jesus Christ and become a better person each day is my goal. Well, that is a bit 'about me!'
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

