Exploratory Surgery and Biopsy

Tuesday Stephen had his surgery to check out his insides.  The tumors were difficult to get to and so they couldn’t do the surgery laproscopically (not sure how to spell that!) .  Dr. Tawnya Bowles was the surgeon and the surgery was done at the surgical center at the IMC hosptial just off 5300 S.  She did a great job and she is a really personable and knowledgeable doctor.

He has an insicion from his sturnum to his belly button.  The tumorous lymphodes are behind his stomach and further back.  She took the closest one to the surface to cause the least amount of danger to organs, blood vessels and nerves.  She had to move his stomach to get to it.  They tested it while in surgery to confirm it was a cancerous lymphnode.  It was, and showed the presence of Hodgkin Lymphoma.  Then they sent it to a lab for more extensive testing of the 67 or so other types of lymphoma.  While under anasthesia they also perform a bone marrow biopsy and will be testing it to see if the disease has moved to his bone marrow.   The surgery was about 1 hour 45 minutes long.

In Post surgery, the biggest problem so far has been painful muscle spasms of his abdomen.  While in post op, they placed an epidural block to help control the pain.  He still really struggled with it for the rest of the day.   Drugs can’t fix everything, unfortunately.  If you get too much, your heart rate and blood pressure drop!  About 9 last night they gave him some valium for the muscle spasms and it seemed to help.

I went home about 10 pm so I could work today (on my break right now)  and Jeff spent the night with him.  After school I’m going to go back up and spend the afternoon and evening and Jeff will go to work.  Sarah is on her spring break so she is helping out too.  She has been taking care of getting Josh and Nate to school, and taking turns at the hospital.  Thanks to my neighbors for dinner!

Stephen will be in the hospital for about 3 or 4 days.

Here is a pic or two… Stephen will kill me later for posting them but a picture is worth a thousand words!  Notice what the goals for the day are on the room chart…I think Jeff got into the nurses’ markers.

About Jane Griener

I am from SLC, UT. I grew up in a wonderful family in the south part of the Salt Lake valley. I have 4 sisters and 2 brothers. I married my best friend, Jeff Griener when we were 21 years old. We have 6 children. 4 boys and 2 girls. I've had many adventures in business and life. Too many to tell about in a simple 'about you' spot. My life is centered around my family and they are the most important factor in my life. I like gardening, photography, cooking, knitting, graphic design and lots of other things. I speak a little spanish. Fall is my favorite season of the year, but I think having all 4 seasons is what makes me love fall so much. Religion plays a big roll in my life. I belong to The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. Striving to follow the teachings of Jesus Christ and become a better person each day is my goal. Well, that is a bit 'about me!'
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Exploratory Surgery and Biopsy

  1. Erika says:

    Praying for you and your family. Thank you for keeping us updated.

  2. bEcky mAck says:

    Thank You Jane for the update. Our prayers are with Stephen for a speedy recovery. His positive spirit and smile is uplifting. Bless the Griener family.

  3. Lynne Stevenson says:

    Good luck Grieners – such a valiant fight! Love and best wishes to you and your family.

  4. Pam Banta says:

    Love you guys! Lots of prayers your way!

  5. Kari Wahlquist says:

    Jane! You are all in iur prayers! Heavens best love and light to you and your sweet family! Thank you for sharing so we can pray too. Love, Kari and Co.

  6. Ginny Moon says:

    Jane,
    Your pictures and words about Steven have touched my heart. Being a mother is so heart-wrenching, but we wouldn’t have it any other way, right? We are praying for him and his speedy recovery!

Leave a Reply

