Mixed Results

Today was a day we have been looking forward to for a couple of months now.  We got the results of the PET scan and learned how the new treatments have worked.

All of the tumors in his neck and chest have disappeared!  It was a fabulous result in that area.  However, in his abdomen, the tumors appear about the same or slightly larger.  The doctor is really puzzled why it would work in one area and not in another.  He has concluded that before we do any further treatments or make any further decisions he needs to have a biopsy of the lymphnodes in this area to find out exactly what they are.  He is beginning to wonder if Stephen may have two types of cancer.

We are waiting for the surgeon to call us and schedule an appointment and surgery.  Doctor Nibley said that they would try to get the biospy with laproscopic surgery.  The lymphnodes are a little tricky to reach in this area because they are towards his back.   Stephen will most likely have his surgery towards the beginning of next week.  We will post more when we know more.

Because of the good response to the treatment, the possibility of a Stem Cell Transplant is now open again.  The Transplant team will be calling us to meet with them again once we get the biopsy results.

Stephen said to tell everyone thanks for all your prayers and support!  We will post an update soon.

P.S.  A couple of weeks ago Jared and Maria Jose came to visit.  It is the first time our entire family has been together for 3 years.  Sarah works and Glen Ricks photography and she arranged for us to get a family picture taken.  It was perfect timing because Stephen now has hair again and isn’t on any steriods.  I think they turned out great!

The Griener Family, February 2012

The Griener Family, February 2012
About Jane Griener

I am from SLC, UT. I grew up in a wonderful family in the south part of the Salt Lake valley. I have 4 sisters and 2 brothers. I married my best friend, Jeff Griener when we were 21 years old. We have 6 children. 4 boys and 2 girls. I've had many adventures in business and life. Too many to tell about in a simple 'about you' spot. My life is centered around my family and they are the most important factor in my life. I like gardening, photography, cooking, knitting, graphic design and lots of other things. I speak a little spanish. Fall is my favorite season of the year, but I think having all 4 seasons is what makes me love fall so much. Religion plays a big roll in my life. I belong to The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. Striving to follow the teachings of Jesus Christ and become a better person each day is my goal. Well, that is a bit 'about me!'
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Mixed Results

  1. Gloria Acuna says:

    Pictures look fantastic. Guys, you are all so good looking, there is no way this pictures wouldn’t be perfect as they are! What a lovely and cute family!

  2. So glad that the medicine made some progress! Stephen is such a patient patient! Way to go Steve! We love you guys.

  3. liz says:

    I love your pictures! We’ll keep praying for better results for Stephen. I’m sure this feels like it has dragged on and on — you guys are tough!

  4. Kirk says:

    Great family photo Jeff. I’m glad to hear at least some of the results were positive.

  5. julie says:

    We are grateful for the good news, and hope they can figure out what’s going on with those stomach tumors. Your family pictures are beautiful!!!!

  6. Wendy says:

    I’m so glad that there are some positive results! Thank heavens for modern day medicine, and I’m sure they will figure out and treat what is going on in the abdomen. I love your family pictures- how fun to have everyone together!

Leave a Reply

