Third time is a charm?

Well, I guess we will find out.  Stephen is about to start his third type of chemotherapy drug.  Tuesday we went to the doctor to recieve the results of his PET scan.  The cancer has become smaller in some areas and larger in other areas.  In general, the cancer is still active and is not progressing toward remission as we had hoped.   The doctors have discussed his condition over the last couple of days and have decided to have him try Gemcitabine.  It is a chemotherapy drug that is used for Hodgkin Lymphoma in cases of refractory cancer.  Refractory cancer is the term they use for cancer that just keeps resisting chemotherapy.   It was disappointing to hear, but now we are just focused on moving forward with the next treatment so we can get him ready for the Stem Cell Transplant.   If this treatment works, he will have his Stem Cells harvested in January and have the transplant procedure toward the end of January.   He is going to have his first Gemcitabine treatment Monday morning.  He is looking forward to it.  His cancer sypmtoms are coming back and he really hates how that feels.  He gets itchy, sweaty, has abdominal pain and fevers.  We are planning to have a great weekend watching football, movies, giving him back rubs and anything else that will help distract him until Monday!

Thanks for all your continued prayers and support.  We have faith that God hears and answers our prayers and we hope that the answer to our prayers will be our desired outcome!    This is definately a chance for us to exercise faith, hope and charity.  You are all providing that for us and we are trying to follow your great examples.  Thanks for being such wonderful friends and family!

About Jane Griener

I am from SLC, UT. I grew up in a wonderful family in the south part of the Salt Lake valley. I have 4 sisters and 2 brothers. I married my best friend, Jeff Griener when we were 21 years old. We have 6 children. 4 boys and 2 girls. I've had many adventures in business and life. Too many to tell about in a simple 'about you' spot. My life is centered around my family and they are the most important factor in my life. I like gardening, photography, cooking, knitting, graphic design and lots of other things. I speak a little spanish. Fall is my favorite season of the year, but I think having all 4 seasons is what makes me love fall so much. Religion plays a big roll in my life. I belong to The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. Striving to follow the teachings of Jesus Christ and become a better person each day is my goal. Well, that is a bit 'about me!'
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Third time is a charm?

  1. N.Judd says:

    Thanks for the update Jane. I know the Lord will continue to bless you all. Stephen and your family are in our continuous prayers. I hope to be able to contribute to the bake sale. Anything I can do to help out! My heart is with you Jane as a mother. I am so there with you.

  2. Kate Landro says:

    Hugs and Prayers. We love you.

  3. Erika says:

    Our thoughts are with your family

  4. Julie says:

    Stephen is one tough dude. We’ll keep praying as always.

  5. Thanks everyone for all of your support! I’m feeling pretty good totay; might even make it to the football game 😀

Leave a Reply

