Time to shop for hats, caps, and beanies

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It finally started.  After resisting 7 months of chemo, his hair follicles decided it was time to give in.  At first Stephen wasn’t too sure how he felt about it.  Seeing a patch of hair in your hand can be quite a shock, even when you are expecting it.   So, Friday he had me give him a 1/4 inch long buzz, he kept the beard.  Then today, while he was in class, he looked down and realized that his beard was all over his lap!  He went back to his apartment and shaved…and he had a little fun along the way.  He tried out every type of beard style he could as he shaved it off.  The buzzed hair on his head is still hanging in there but I have a feeling that it’s life will be short lived.

Everyone decided to lose a little hair in support of Stephen.  Jeff, Nate, and Josh buzzed their hair.  Jennie shaved a little ‘Solidarity for Stephen’ patch in the back of her hair and Sarah unselfishly decided she would(continue to) shave her legs in honor of Stephen!

Stephen was planning on being a mountain man for Halloween…now he thinks he should be Aang, the Last Airbender!  Good plan Stephen!

Wednesday Stephen starts his next series of ICE chemotherapy.  He will receive chemo Wednesday, Thursday and Friday.  Saturday afternoon he will get the Neulasta shot to stimulate bone marrow production to help with the recovery from the chemo.  Onward and upward!

About Jane Griener

I am from SLC, UT. I grew up in a wonderful family in the south part of the Salt Lake valley. I have 4 sisters and 2 brothers. I married my best friend, Jeff Griener when we were 21 years old. We have 6 children. 4 boys and 2 girls. I've had many adventures in business and life. Too many to tell about in a simple 'about you' spot. My life is centered around my family and they are the most important factor in my life. I like gardening, photography, cooking, knitting, graphic design and lots of other things. I speak a little spanish. Fall is my favorite season of the year, but I think having all 4 seasons is what makes me love fall so much. Religion plays a big roll in my life. I belong to The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. Striving to follow the teachings of Jesus Christ and become a better person each day is my goal. Well, that is a bit 'about me!'
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Time to shop for hats, caps, and beanies

  1. jgriener says:

    Go Stevie! Go! -King Julian

  2. Gloria Acuna says:

    I am so impressed with the strenght of your family. I know how much we love our children, and how much we pray in their behalf. Keep up the good example for the rest of us. Our Heavenly Father must be so proud of Stephen and his incredible family, and for sure He is looking for a way to bless all your efforts!
    It is a pleasure to have a chance to know you! Besitos

  3. Kate Landro says:

    I’m sorry to hear about the hair loss. I know Bryan has been itching to shave his hair in support of you!! I have no doubt that by dinner time tonight he will be bald too! I have to say that you do ROCK the new hair do. Hugs & Smiles, Kate Landro

Leave a Reply

