First ICE treatment

Stephen completed his first ICE chemotherapy treatment today.  He started on wednesday.  He and Jeff went to the infusion center at the IMC hospital on 5300 South in SLC.  The treatment took most of the day.  That evening a home health nurse came by and started fluids for the night.  Thursday morning I flushed the line and put in some heparin to keep the port from getting clogged with blood.  I felt just like a nurse but I think it made Stephen a little nervous having me inject fluids into his line.  Then he and Jeff headed off again for another day.  This same senario repeated again on Friday.  Then Saturday afternoon Sarah and I took Stephen back to the infusion center.  They removed the line from his port and then gave him a shot of Neulasta.  The shot is to make his bone marrow increase it’s production of blood cells to help with recovery from the Chemo.

Overall we feel really great about how things are going so far.  Stephen doesn’t feel great but he admits that he feels a lot better than he expected to feel.  He has been up and about today.  He went with Jeff to watch a little of Josh’s football game (he won), then he went to Jimmy John’s to have lunch with some of Jeff’s family.  He had to have a nap after that and now he is watching the BYU game and cheering loudly!

He was really cheered up this week by visits from friends, baskets of treats, soup, enchiladas and other wonderful gifts of support.  I really appreciated them too!  THANKS!

I’m so glad Stephen has a great sense of humor.  Just outside the entrance to the Cancer Center there is a small garden area with a water feature and some plants.  It is titled ‘The Healing Garden.’ Stephen always steps into the Garden and strikes some yoga pose or something.   Sarah and I documented it this trip.

About Jane Griener

I am from SLC, UT. I grew up in a wonderful family in the south part of the Salt Lake valley. I have 4 sisters and 2 brothers. I married my best friend, Jeff Griener when we were 21 years old. We have 6 children. 4 boys and 2 girls. I've had many adventures in business and life. Too many to tell about in a simple 'about you' spot. My life is centered around my family and they are the most important factor in my life. I like gardening, photography, cooking, knitting, graphic design and lots of other things. I speak a little spanish. Fall is my favorite season of the year, but I think having all 4 seasons is what makes me love fall so much. Religion plays a big roll in my life. I belong to The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. Striving to follow the teachings of Jesus Christ and become a better person each day is my goal. Well, that is a bit 'about me!'
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to First ICE treatment

  1. holli bezzant says:

    I love his pose in the garden,he’s a riot! you all are in our prayers!

  2. Becky Mackintosh says:

    Great blog Jane and Great pose Stephen! Thnx for letting us follow your journey of Healing!

  3. Nikki Xanthos says:

    Just watched your “See you again” video with Kiara. She still laughs herself to tears when she watches it! Thinking of you and praying for you, Stephen! Stay strong!

  4. Shirley McGuire says:

    Want you to know that we are thinking of and praying for Stephen and his family.

  5. Kathy King says:

    We’re certain this is a struggle beyond measure for your family–we appreciate you, Jane, for bringing us all in. Know that our hearts & prayers go out to all of you–We love you Stephen & thanks for making us smile!

    All the Best,

    Kathy King

Leave a Reply

